The Dead Letters is composed of Ashley Bullock (vocals), Will Holmes (lead guitar), Paul Beeman (bass), Spencer Lambert (guitar), Ryan Sprute (drums). Originally known as The Matirns, they formed in January of 2007, with Ryan replacing the old drummer, Peter Miller.

In August of 2008, Spencer joined on guitar and the band decided to change the name to The Dead Letters, as Will was inspired by the famous Herman Melville short story “Bartleby, the Scrivener”. To read the story on Project Gutenberg go here, and to buy it on Amazon go here.